A special election for the United States Senate in Alabama is scheduled to be held on December 12, 2017, to choose Senator Jeff Sessions’ successor and to complete the Senate term through January 2021. Sessions was confirmed by the Senate to serve as United States Attorney General on February 8, 2017, and subsequently resigned from the Senate.

Voter Resources for 2017 Special Election

New Alabama Law on Crossover Voting

Primary Runoff
September  26, 2017

  • September 11 – Deadline for Voter Registration
  • September 21 – Deadline for Absentee Ballot Application
  • September 25 – Deadline to Postmark or Hand-Deliver an Absentee Ballot

General Election
December  12, 2017

  • November 27 – Deadline for Voter Registration
  • December 7 – Deadline for Absentee Ballot Application
  • December 11 – Deadline to Postmark or Hand-Deliver an Absentee Ballot


The following individuals have qualified with the Alabama Republican Party to seek the office of U.S. Senate. A runoff election is scheduled based on the August 15 primary results:


Roy S. Moore: Former chief justice of the Alabama Supreme Court.


Luther Strange: Former Alabama Attorney General appointed to the U.S. Senate in February by former-Gov. Robert Bentley following Jeff Sessions’ confirmation a U.S. Attorney General.


If you have any questions, please use our Contact Us Form.

Comments are closed