New Alabama Law Prohibits Crossover Voting

Alabama Voting Machine

Alabama has a new law that prohibits voters from switching their political party allegiance between a primary and any subsequent runoff election.

The bill’s sponsor, State Sen. Tom Whatley, said, “If you vote in one party’s primary, you can’t switch to the other’s runoff.”

A key part of the rule is that voters aren’t required to cast a primary ballot to be able to vote in the runoff. Basically, the crossover rule only applies to voters that participate in the primary election, then vote in the runoff.

The text of the law reads:

If an elector votes in a primary election, he or she may vote in a subsequent primary runoff election only if he or she voted in the primary election of the same political party for which the runoff election is being held.


Secretary of State John Merrill plans for the law to be enforced during an anticipated September runoff in the race for the U.S. Senate seat previously held by U.S. Attorney General Jeff Sessions. The primary election will be August 15, 2017 and the runoff election will be September 26, 2017.

Information on the election is available at

If you have any questions regarding this new rule, please contact the GOP using our Contact Us form.

Sheriff Blake Dorning Announces Retirement

At the May 20, 2017 Madison County Republican Mens Club breakfast, Madison County Sheriff Blake Dorning announced that he will not seek reelection in 2018. Sheriff Dorning has served Madison County for 35 years, where he joined the Sheriff’s Department as a jailer in 1983.

Blake Dorning was elected Sheriff and assumed the office in January, 2003.

We congratulate Sheriff Dorning on his outstanding career. We thank him for his service to our community and for his fine example as a public servant.

Sheriff Dorning will complete the remaining 18 months of his current term.

Update: You can watch Sheriff Dorning’s speech on this Facebook Page. He begins talking about 4 minutes into the video.

Sheriff Blake Dorning

US Senate Candidates

A special election for the United States Senate in Alabama is scheduled to be held on December 12, 2017, to choose Senator Jeff Sessions’ successor and to complete the Senate term through January 2021. Sessions was confirmed by the Senate to serve as United States Attorney General on February 8, 2017, and subsequently resigned from the Senate.

The Primary Election is scheduled for August 15, 2017.

More details and links to campaign information are available on

The following individuals have declared their intent to seek the office of U.S. Senate:

James Paul Beretta

Joseph F. Breault

Randy Brinson

Mo Brooks

Dom Gentile

Mary Maxwell

Roy S. Moore

Bryan Peeples

Trip Pittman

Luther Strange

MCREC Officers Elected

The Madison County Republican Executive Committee (MCREC) elected their officers for 2017-2018. Congratulations to our county officers!

Chairman – Sam Givhan

Vice Chairman – Brad Taylor

Secretary – Kathy Linden

Treasurer – Linda Coats

Policy Committee – Elbert Peters

Policy Committee – Frances Taylor


Thank You Alabama!


Thank you Alabama for voting for our candidates, both for Donald Trump and for our local candidates.

Congratulations to our newly elected officials!

President – Donald Trump
Vice President – Mike Pence

U.S. Senate – Richard Shelby

Congress – Mo Brooks

Craig Hill – County Commission District 3

School Board, Dist. 4 – David Weis

School Board, Dist. 5 – Shere Ruker